My Story Through Facebook Ads

The hyper-targeting that can be achieved through Facebook is both awesome and creepy. I first started to take notice of the ads last year. When you change your status to “in a relationship” on Facebook it asks you when your relationship began. As of last year my boyfriend and I had been dating for 6 years. All of the sudden engagement ring ads starting popping up all over my Facebook. I can’t even imagine how many of these ads my boyfriend saw. One year later, my boyfriend and I became engaged and our Facebook status changed. Now I see ads for everything and anything wedding related. I have even seen ads targeted towards pregnant women! Talk about presumptuous. It is interesting to see that my Facebook ads have evolved along with my relationship. It seems that now Facebook ads are pressuring us along with our friends, to get married, have babies, etc. I’m anxious to see what Facebook ads have in mind for my life next.

By asitton

Leave a Reply

